Candidates for the 2004-2005 APWA Board of Directors named

Six nominees are slated for election to the 2004-2005 APWA Board of Directors. Three candidates selected by the National Nominating Committee include Bob Freudenthal, Deputy General Manager, Hendersonville Utility District, Hendersonville, Tennessee, for President-Elect; George Crombie, Director of Public Works, Town of Plymouth, Massachusetts, for Director-At-Large, Environmental Management; and Diane Linderman, P.E., Director of Public Works, City of Richmond, Virginia, for Director-At-Large, Leadership and Management.

Three candidates nominated by regional committees as directors include: Howard LaFever, P.E., Principal, Stearns & Wheler, LLC, Cazenovia, New York, for Director, Region II; Shelby P. LaSalle, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Krebs, LaSalle, LeMieux Consultants, Inc., New Orleans, Louisiana, for Director, Region IV; and Dale Houdeshell, P.E., Director of Transportation and Special Projects, City of St. Peters, Missouri, for Director, Region VI.

This year's National Nominating Committee was comprised of the chair, Immediate Past President Martin J. Manning, P.E., Public Works Director, Clark County, Nevada; Judith M. Mueller, Public Works Director, City of Charlottesville, Virginia; Richard L. Ridings, P.E., Vice President-Central Division, HNTB Corporation, Austin, Texas; Mio Johnson, Manager-Engineering Division, Municipal Light & Power, Anchorage, Alaska; Malcolm Lewis, Utility Safety Engineer, City of Winston-Salem, North Carolina; William E. Spearman III, Partner, Woolpert LLP, Columbia, South Carolina; and W. Dorian Wandzura, P.Eng., General Manager Roadways & Traffic, City of Regina, Saskatchewan. The three regional nominating committees were comprised of the APWA House of Delegates members from each chapter in the regions.

Bob Freudenthal, President-Elect
Bob Freudenthal began his public service career as a Building Inspector for the City of Hendersonville, Tennessee, becoming the Public Works Director in 1988. In 2001 he became the Director of Public Works for the City of Paducah, Kentucky, serving three years before recently accepting the position of Deputy General Manager for the Hendersonville Utility District. He has been a continuous member of APWA since 1984 and has been active in both national and chapter levels. He served at the national level as Director, Region III (1999-Present), Membership Committee Chair (2001), Finance Committee (2002-Present), Finance Committee Chair and APWA Treasurer (2004), and the Congress Program Planning Committee (1997). His involvement with the Tennessee Chapter includes Chapter President (1996), Chapter Delegate (1994, 1997, 1999), Executive Board (1993-1999), and numerous assignments with the Awards, Nominating, and Budget Committees.

George Crombie, Director-At-Large, Environmental Management
George Crombie's career has included public works directorships in the cities and towns of Durham, New Hampshire; Burlington, Vermont; Nashua, New Hampshire; and most recently in Plymouth, Massachusetts. In addition, he has served as Regional Director for the Department of Environmental Affairs in Massachusetts as well as the Massachusetts Undersecretary of Environmental Affairs for finance and administration. He has been a member of APWA for 28 years and has been very active in national and chapter committees, including current chair of the Solid Waste Management Technical Committee. Other committees he has been a part of include the State of Vermont Technical Advisory Committee on Solid Waste and the Board of Directors of the Bio-Solids Association. He was named one of APWA's Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year in 2002 and was the recipient of the Charles Walter Nichols Award in 2001.

Diane Linderman, P.E., Director-At-Large, Leadership and Management
Diane Linderman, P.E., has been a member of the public works community since 1991 when she joined the staff in the City of Richmond, Virginia as City Engineer. From 1979 to 1991, she worked as a consulting engineer for Harland Bartholomew and Associates and Wilbur Smith Associates. In 1999 she was appointed Director of Public Works for the City of Richmond. Since becoming a member of APWA in 1991, she has been active at the chapter and national levels, including participation on the Utilities and Public Right-of-Way (UPROW) Committee for three years (Chair, 2000-2001). In 2002 she was elected as a director on the VA/DC/MD Chapter and continues to serve. She organized the Virginia Public Works Alliance, which has been endorsed by the chapter, to promote public works activities and to advocate for legislative and policy initiatives relating to public works. In 2003 she was named one of APWA's Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year.

Howard LaFever, P.E., Director, Region II
Howard LaFever, P.E., has over 33 years experience in the field of environmental engineering, specializing in studies, design, and construction services for the collection, treatment, and disposal of wastewater and solid waste. He has been an owner of the Stearns & Wheler Companies since 1987 and has helped the organization expand to three integrated operating entities in ten offices throughout the northeast and Mid-Atlantic states. He is a past president of the New York State Chapter, and served as the Chapter Delegate from 1995 until 2001. LaFever has also been active at the national level, serving on the Membership Committee (2002-2004) and the Solid Waste Management Committee (1997-2000). In addition, he is a member of the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. He completes his first term on the APWA Board of Directors in September 2004.

Shelby P. LaSalle, Jr., Director, Region IV
Shelby P. LaSalle, Jr. is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Krebs, LaSalle, LeMieux Consultants, Inc. and has been associated with the Krebs consulting engineering group since 1965. He is a member of the Louisiana Engineering Society and is Past Chairman of the UNO Civil and Environmental Engineering Advisory Board. He is an active member in the Urban Land Institute, American Planning Association and Homebuilders Association. A Lifetime Member of APWA, LaSalle has been active in the association since 1968 and has served in various capacities at the APWA Congress and Exposition on many occasions. He is a past president of the New Orleans Chapter, and in the 1970s and 1980s he chaired every standing committee at the chapter level, including the Transportation, Bylaws, Finance, and Programs Committees. He has also been a member of APWA's Transportation Technical Committee as well as the Government Affairs Committee.

Dale L. Houdeshell, P.E., Director, Region VI
For the last 27 years, Dale L. Houdeshell, P.E., has served in public works directorial and city engineer positions. In 1987, he assumed a position with the City of St. Peters, Missouri, where until recently he was the Manager of Engineering and Development Services. In October 2003, he became the Director of Transportation and Special Projects with the City of St. Peters. Houdeshell has been active in APWA's Missouri Chapter for the last 29 years. Offices he has held include Chapter Delegate (1996-2001), Chapter President (1995), Chapter Vice President (1994), Chapter Secretary (1993), and Past Chairman of the St. Louis Metro Branch. He is a 1997 recipient of APWA's Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year Award. He completes his first term on the APWA Board of Directors in September 2004.