Twenty-five Governors, 3 Premiers, 1 Prime Minister declare National Public Works Week

Governors in 25 states officially proclaimed May 18-24, 2003 as National Public Works Week by signing proclamations recognizing the hard work and efforts of public works officials in their states. Governors in Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin all celebrated National Public Works Week.

Premiers declared Public Works Week in British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. APWA also received a message from the Prime Minister of Canada declaring May 18-24, 2003 to be Public Works Week throughout Canada.

APWA worked with chapter presidents or representatives in each of these states to help them receive a proclamation from the Governor or Premier. A special thanks goes to the Arkansas, British Columbia, Central Pennsylvania, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Manitoba, Missouri, Nevada, New England, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Sacramento, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, VA/DC/MD, Washington State, and Wisconsin Chapters.

Signed proclamations are available under the National Public Works Week section on the APWA website: