DOT Secretary Mineta awarded APWA Honorary Membership

On October 1 in Washington, D.C., APWA presented Secretary of Transportation Norman Y. Mineta with its Honorary Membership Award in a special award ceremony.

"Secretary Mineta is truly a friend of public works," said APWA President Martin J. Manning, Public Works Director of Clark County, Nevada. "He has dedicated over 34 years of outstanding service to his local community as both a mayor and city council member where he oversaw the development of hundreds of public works projects. In Washington, as Chairman of the House Public Works and Transportation Committee, he helped to author the landmark Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991, shifting decisions on highways and mass transit planning to state and local governments. Finally, as Secretary of Transportation, Mr. Mineta has worked hard to ensure the security of this nation's transportation systems. APWA is proud to bestow on him the Honorary Membership Award."

Established in 1935, the APWA Honorary Membership Award is bestowed at the discretion of the APWA Board of Directors to preeminent national leaders in the field of public works. The award also honors individuals who have distinguished themselves through leadership and vision in the field of public works, as well as made contributions of special merit and benefit to the association.

Secretary Mineta was officially awarded the honor September 22 during APWA's International Public Works Congress and Exposition in Kansas City, Missouri. Past recipients of the Honorary Membership Award designation include U.S. Senator Spencer Abraham, U.S. Rep. Bud Shuster, and former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Rodney Slater.

APWA's South Bay Chapter nominated Secretary Mineta for the award. For additional information, see "Awards 2002" on the November 2002 APWA Reporter web page.