Bush Cabinet picks include two APWA award recipients

Two of President George W. Bush's Cabinet nominees are past recipients of prestigious APWA awards.

Transportation secretary-designate Norman Mineta was awarded the APWA Distinguished Service Award in 1993, while serving as Chairman of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Public Works and Transportation. Mineta has a distinguished career in business and politics, and his legislative expertise in Congress includes transportation, high-technology industry, trade, NASA and the American space program, the Federal budget, and civil rights.

Energy secretary-designate Spencer Abraham was presented APWA's Honorary Membership Award last year. The outgoing Senator from Michigan was honored for his exemplary leadership and public service on behalf of public works. Abraham was also honored for his role in support of the Clean Michigan Initiative, a statewide ballot measure approved by Michigan voters.

The Distinguished Service Award, established in 1972, recognizes an eminent government or other national leader for their far-reaching, positive impact on public works programs, services or policies through distinguished public service and commitment. The Honorary Membership Award was established in 1935 to promote and enhance the purposes of APWA and is regarded as the highest APWA honor.