West Slope branch honors scholastic achievement

The West Slope branch of the Colorado Chapter recently handed out numerous awards for scholastic achievement and the pursuit of a career in the public works industry. The program targeted high school seniors, college students, and continuing education for those already employed in the public works field.

Scholarships were awarded based on academic standing in their educational program, letters of recommendation/essay, residency in the West Slope region, and the requirement to attend a Colorado college/university/vocational school.

“A big thanks goes out to our chapter members for taking the time to go to their local schools and talk to students about public works,” said John Smith, West Slope Director. “We received many qualified applications.”

Winners include:

Katelyn Baker-Gunnison High School-$2,000 Fred Dyer Scholarship

Justin Doles-Cedaredge High School-$2,000 Fred Dyer Scholarship

Brandon Kesler-Eagle Valley High School-$1,500 Horizon Scholarship

Preston Patterson-Fruita Monument High School-$1,500 Horizon Scholarship

Christopher Wood-Roaring Fork High School-$1,000 Scholarship

Thomas Falkowski-University of Northern Colorado-$1,000 Scholarship

Funds for the scholarship program are raised annually through APWA conferences and events. The scholarships are renewable based upon a progress update to the West Slope Board. West Slope branch members can look for their scholarship packets to be mailed the end of January 2001. Contact Susie Hervert, West Slope secretary, at (970) 479-2444 for more information.