APWA Awards Program

The APWA Awards Program, the most prestigious in the public works world today, annually recognizes outstanding individuals, groups, and chapters who represent excellence in the public works profession.

Some APWA awards recognize the profession as a whole and are not limited to members only, and some are geared to recognize individual members and chapters.

The following awards are given to the profession as a whole:

Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year
Established to inspire excellence and dedication in public service by recognizing the outstanding career service achievements of individual public works professionals and officials from both the public and private sectors.

Public Works Project of the Year Award
Established to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects by recognizing the alliance between the managing agency, the consultant/architect/engineer, and the contractor who, working together, complete public works projects.

Awards are given in five categories: Structures; Transportation; Environment; Historical Restoration/Preservation; and Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair. Each category is further divided based on the cost of the project.

Technical Innovation Award and Management Innovation Award
Provides recognition for an individual, team, or organization for the development and implementation of a creative idea, device, process or systems that enhance the goals of public works in serving the public and protecting the environment.

Exceptional Performance Award Honorary Membership
Established to promote and enhance the purposes of APWA and is regarded as the highest APWA honor. May be awarded in recognition of acknowledged and well-established preeminence in the field of public works, and/or contributions of special merit and benefit upon the association.

Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes an eminent government or other national leader for his/her far-reaching, positive impact on public works programs, services, or policies through distinguished public service and commitment. The award particularly recognizes the national leadership in furthering the mission and goals of APWA.

Abel Wolman Award
Recognizes the best new book published in the field of public works history and is meant to provide encouragement and recognition to historians whose research and publications have made outstanding contributions to the history of public works.

Diversity Exemplary Practices Award
Recognizes individuals and organizations having made outstanding contributions to promoting diversity within the profession.

The following awards are given to APWA members only:

Young Leader Award
Recognizes and encourages young APWA members who have demonstrated an initial commitment to the profession and the association and who show potential for future growth within the association.

Community Involvement Award
Recognizes public works leaders employed by a public agency at the local, regional, state, provincial, or federal level who are also leaders in their community.

Private Sector Service Award
Recognizes outstanding individual achievement through chapter activity and outstanding corporate achievement in support of the association's strategic plan, goals, and objectives.

Donald C. Stone Award for Excellence in Education
Recognizes outstanding and meritorious achievement of individuals assisting in the areas of continuing and graduate professional education for public works professionals. This award also recognizes chapters for their work in delivering educational opportunities to all levels of persons engaged in the delivery of public works services.

Charles Walter Nichols Award
Recognizes outstanding and meritorious achievement in the environmental fields in its broadest sense.

Harry S. Swearingen Award
Recognizes outstanding service to APWA as a member at the chapter level. The candidates must be active members of the association and active at the chapter level for an extended period of time.

Presidential Award for Chapter Excellence (PACE)
Recognizes chapters for their positive impact on their membership, their profession, and their community. Chapters are judged on membership, service to chapter members, advancement of public works, and service to the community.

For more information, please contact Rhonda Wilhite at 816-472-6100 or rwilhite@apwa.net.