Washington Insight

FHWA establishes network with local officials

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) has designated contacts in each of its state division offices to work with local agencies and organizations. These members of FHWA staff will form the core of a “network” which can share ideas, issues, programs, and experiences to assist local officials. In addition, FHWA has identified someone outside FHWA to serve as a “point of contact” in each state to represent the counties, municipalities, and townships.

This network of contacts and coordinators offers strong potential for improving communication among local agencies, State Departments of Transportation, FHWA and Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) centers. The primary role of these contacts and coordinators will be to promote understanding among the agencies, assist in implementing the Federal-aid program activities in which counties, municipalities and local road agencies participate, and help introduce new technologies and innovations which can help the local roads programs.

To see the list of the local road coordinator state contacts and FHWA division office contacts, please go to Hot Topics and the Resource Center on APWA’s web site at www.apwa.net. For those without web access, dial APWA’s Auto Info Request fax service at 800-291-9140 and follow the message prompts.

For more information, contact the FHWA division office in your state, or contact Joe Conway at FHWA Headquarters at 703-235-0552.


Water infrastructure needs the focus of a growing bipartisan congressional caucus

Heather McTavish
APWA Washington office

Because of a significant funding shortfall-$23 billion annually-to modernize and improve America’s drinking water and wastewater systems, concern over the future of this critically important public works infrastructure is growing. Since the 1980s, federal investment in capital needs has declined dramatically as some of the most difficult and expensive federal regulations are beginning to be implemented.

To address these concerns, the Bipartisan Water Infrastructure Caucus was formed in the House of Representatives in April 2000 to educate lawmakers about the status and needs of the nation’s water infrastructure systems. As an active member of the Water Infrastructure Network (WIN), APWA is working to recruit additional House members and broaden the base of understanding among policy makers with regard to the condition of water systems nationwide. WIN is the national coalition that in April released a study, Clean and Safe Water for the 21st Century, showing the $23 billion funding shortfall. A copy of the report is available on the APWA web site at www.apwa.net.

The following is the latest list of Representatives who are members of the Water Infrastructure Caucus, now numbering 62 members. APWA members are contacting their Representatives to thank those who have joined the caucus and encouraging those who have not yet joined to become members. For more information about the bipartisan Water Infrastructure Caucus or on how to contact your member of Congress, contact Jim Fahey, Andrea Fisher or Heather McTavish in the APWA Washington office at (202) 408-9541.

Members of the Bipartisan Congressional Water Infrastructure Caucus


Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
Bob Borski (D-PA)
Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)


Richard Baker (R-LA)
John Baldacci (D-ME)
Jim Barcia (D-MI)
Brian Bilbray (R-CA)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Corrine Brown (D-FL)
Michael Capuano (D-MA)
Bob Clement (D-TN)
Jim Clyburn (D-SC)
Merrill Cook (R-UT)
Jerry Costello (D-IL)
William Coyne (D-PA)
Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
William Delahunt (D-MA)
Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Peter Deutsch (D-FL)
Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Jim Duncan (R-TN)
Vern Ehlers (R-MI)
Phil English (R-PA)
Lane Evans (D-IL)
Bob Filner (D-CA)
Bob Franks (R-NJ)
George Gekas (R-PA)
Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD)
Tim Holden (D-PA)
Steve Horn (R-CA)
Asa Hutchinson (R-AR)
Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
Sue Kelly (R-NY)
Ron Klink (D-PA)
Nick Lampson (D-TX)
Steve LaTourette (R-OH)
Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
Frank Mascara (D-PA)
Bob Matsui (D-CA)
Jim McGovern (D-MA)
Gary Miller (R-CA)
Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
Bob Ney (R-OH)
Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-Delegate DC)
William Pascrel (D-NJ)
Tom Petri (R-WI)
David Phelps (D-IL)
Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)
Bob Schaeffer (R-CO)
Ronnie Shows (D-MS)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
John Tanner (D-TN)
Gene Taylor (D-MS)
Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)
Karen Thurman (D-FL)
John Tierney (D-MA)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Jim Walsh (R-NY)

Total- 62